FStoppers Reviews The Retouching Toolkit

"The Retouching Toolkit 3.1: The Best Photoshop Plugin Gets Even Better"
REVIEW

I teach that you should never let your tools get in the way of your art. The Toolkit exactly supports that concept, allowing you to focus on your creative and professional work. There is no wasted space, nothing to draw your attention away, and not a single useless gimmick or one-time special effect. Every button represents speed and access, and you can configure the panels for added benefit. Toolkit is one of the few things that must be with me everywhere I use Photoshop.

Scott Valentine is a digital artist, author, and educator in the Southwest United states. His skills range from retouching and compositing to painting and illustration. Scott relies on his blended education in physics and fine art to explore and experiment.

"Why I love the Retouching Toolkit" in a nutshell: I love to work fast and I am running out of keyboard-shortcuts because I do not like to click through menu-hierarchies. Photoshop’s actions-panel is very limited in matters of layout. But the Retouching Toolkit easily allows me to pack a ton of commands and actions into a small customized panel with customized buttons which I can use with just one click. All this even gets better with the very sophisticated Add-ons – such as the very refined Retouching-workflow, the Color Wheels or the Luminosity-Blending-panel. Being a so-called "Photoshop expert" I could live without those extensions, but I would miss them quite a lot to be honest.

Olaf Giermann is the number one authority that photographers and editing professionals seek Photoshop advice from in German-speaking regions.  He is the main author for DOCMA, the most renowned and sophisticated Photoshop magazine, and has among the highest published video courses about creative image editing on the LinkedIn Learning platform.

The Retouching Toolkit allows me to adapt my panel perfectly to me and my needs, and to expand it with my own scripts and actions.  The scripts and additional tools developed by Conny Wallstrom, such as the Color Wheels, are thought through down to the last detail, and facilitate my work every day.  With the Toolkit, I save time, and time means money for me!

Mick Nite works as a professional retoucher and digital designer for some of the most prestigious brands and agencies in the world.  His work ranges from high-end retouching for commercials, fashion magazines, movie posters, artwork, to consulting.

The Retouching Toolkit gives me the ability to adjust it exactly to my workflow and ultimately speed it up significantly. It doesn't force anything on me that I don't need, therefore it stays lean and doesn't clutter my workspace.

Kai Gut is a commercial retoucher based in Munich and London.

The Toolkit Panels are so good, I would never even consider going back to processing my images without them. The amount of time I save with the Panels is so great that my productivity and creativity have improved markedly since I started using them.

Rafael Aviles was born and raised in Mexico. He moved to the US to attend graduate school and earned a PhD in Physical Chemistry from the University of Nevada-Reno. After doing postdoctoral research at Cornell University, Rafael joined the R&D department of Rohm and Haas Company (now Dow Chemicals), eventually becoming R&D Director. He retired in 2011 and now spends most of his time cycling, traveling, and making great photographs.
Rafael’s interest in photography started when he was eight years old and received a Brownie camera from his father, who taught him basic photographic and composition skills. Completely self-taught in the art and science of photography, Rafael spent many years working with film cameras and eventually converted to the digital medium. Some of his pictures have won awards in national contests, and have been published in Outdoor Photographer and Wired.com e-magazines.

As a photographer who loves to catch the natural beauty of my models, it is very important for me to have as much time as possible to actually create the photos rather than spending too much time editing the photos. With help of the Retouching Toolkit and its Panel Maker I was able to combine my workflows into a single panel, and am able to save a lot of time during the editing of my photography. In short: Its a real time saver! You’re going to have way more time to focus your time on photography thanks to all the reduced time required to edit your photos!

Pierre Wolter a self-taught photographer who enjoys showing the beauty of his models, no matter what their appearance may be.  His favorite ingredient for photography is the use of shadows.

Making a living from photography and editing, time efficiency is a huge factor. For that matter I've always worked with my own actions and scripts. However, the Retouching Toolkit added another layer (I'd like to say "a whole new world") of efficiency, providing the possibility to build and customize your own panels and with this always have the right set of tools and actions for the given subject at hand - everything you need and ONLY what you need, all in one place. Also, the included panels provided me with some highly useful scripts and tools to add to and optimize my own workflow.

Sigrid Aicher is a professional photographer from Vienna, focused on – but not limited to – animal photography.

FAcebook PAGE REVIEWS

Retouching Toolkit
5.0
Based on 35 reviews
powered by Facebook
Roger Ele
Roger Ele
2020-08-15T04:51:19+0000
The Panel Maker has two reasons for living – so to speak.The first to be able to combine actions, brushes, presets , scripts and menu items into one panel that allows for fewer panels open and a focus on workflow instead of functions/action/tools that are scattered. This right now as the core benefit is my favorite 🙂The second bonus is the ability to share and learn new workflow ideas and techniques. Since it seems like that is a totally separate reason for being, that is also my favorite!As there are often ten different ways to do things in Photoshop it becomes less about the one best way – but more about being able to adapt panel maker to the workflow and techniques that are familiar and then evolving and adapting the workflow from there as one gets new ideas on how to do things (it is going to happen – no matter how Photoshop god you are!) 🙂read more
Gerhard Kupfner
Gerhard Kupfner
2020-08-12T17:41:16+0000
It´s the best Panel for Photoshop i ever used. It makes my workflow much faster. And the support ist fast and very helpful.
Brian Stalter
Brian Stalter
2020-08-12T17:19:07+0000
Probably my favorite add-on for Photoshop – it has made retouching much faster. I really love that the panels are very customizable and the process of configuring the system to your liking is easy.When I needed some support (for an error on my part) I got help quickly and in a straight-forward manor.
Russell Walters
Russell Walters
2019-10-14T00:11:17+0000
The best for all tools one spot!
Timothy Casca Okposuogu
Timothy Casca Okposuogu
2019-09-09T21:29:16+0000
I’m recommending retouching toolkit as one of the best Toolkit and faster to edit with as a software it’s nice and durable.
Glenn Mitchell
Glenn Mitchell
2019-08-06T03:16:49+0000
Flexible. Great functionality. Easily customizable.
Paul Santek
Paul Santek
2019-08-03T15:46:49+0000
Not only for retouchers – also usefull if you have a client wanting you to print a picture in b/w. Makes enhancements really fast if you know how to. That knowledge is also provided by the Retouching Toolkit Team.Makes the life on the journey between taking a picture and putting it on a wall really easy.
Olivier Bain
Olivier Bain
2019-07-29T17:33:27+0000
Excellent tool for photoshop
Charlie Ewing
Charlie Ewing
2019-07-23T16:46:08+0000
I picked up the retouching tool kit after watching a few reviews and uses by Pratik. The gradient map to fix color tones was amazing, I much started off as a addition for high-end images I found it perfect for a lot of my event work as well. The Dodge and Burn action is one of the best uses I’ve gotten out of this and my highly recommend this for anyone doing retouching!
Michael Euler
Michael Euler
2019-07-23T13:29:38+0000
The best panel I have ever seen. Everything else is toys and wasted money. Freely configurable, anyone can arrange it as best as his workflow. I love it.
Frank von Schilling
Frank von Schilling
2019-05-28T11:14:07+0000
Eröffnet neue Wege in PS mit einer unglaublichen Vielzahl an Möglichkeiten für individuellen Workflow, in vielen Bereichen weltweit innovativ.
Helmut Bär
Helmut Bär
2019-05-22T08:46:19+0000
Einfach Klasse gemacht, leicht erlernbar, flexibel konfigurierbar und anwendbar und schnelle Antworten auf alle Fragen. 👍
Jens Kahnert
Jens Kahnert
2019-05-21T11:59:27+0000
Flexible, excellent support, the one and only add on for ps.
J-Girard Thierry
J-Girard Thierry
2019-05-20T16:00:56+0000
The best toolkit ! Efficient and powerful !!!
Ivano Coltellacci
Ivano Coltellacci
2019-05-19T20:22:34+0000
A very nice and handy way to organize your own workflow, integrating scripts from genius Conny and your own actions….Definitively a must have ….
Mehmet Yamanlar
Mehmet Yamanlar
2019-05-19T19:51:17+0000
Great program. Has used it since the start. Now the latest version almost halves my retouch time and with it, less in front of the computer and more behind the camera.
Rafael G. Aviles
Rafael G. Aviles
2019-05-19T18:09:45+0000
As a photographer, I use Photoshop to develop my photos and give them a specific look and feel. My workflow is varied and complex, because it depends on the photo I am working on, and they are all different. I use a wide variety of Photoshop tools, in combination with adjustment layers, filters, blending modes, and blend-if modifications to develop each image to my taste. The problem with Photoshop is that these tools are scattered all over its complex interface, which makes it difficult to work in an efficient manner. Keyboard shortcuts help, but if there are too many, it is hard to remember them all, especially the ones that I don’t use all the time. Actions help, too, but they are tucked away in the actions panel, and it takes a few steps to find the action I want. And I have too many actions to assign keyboard shortcuts to all of them (and to remember them all).This is where the Toolkit comes in handy, to make all these problems go away. It is an extraordinarily well-designed tool organization system that allows me to put all my tools and actions on a concise panel where I can easily access them without having to hunt around on the Photoshop interface. The Toolkit allows me to use colors, buttons, tabs, and icons to make it very easy to do all the things my workflow requires. Not only that, the Toolkit includes a variety of very helpful scripts, actions, and sample panels that make it very easy to make my own panels. The actions and scripts are designed to implement the best practices for complex retouching processes, including dodging and burning, selective saturation adjustments, making and applying color gradients, and using specialized curves for color correction. These complex processes are not only made simple to use on a panel, but are carefully programmed to deliver the best results, based on the available knowledge from highly experienced professional retouchers.read more
Peter Gaudiano
Peter Gaudiano
2019-05-19T14:49:47+0000
Smart workflow. Probably the best, most flexible retouching toolkit/panel out there. It will not do everything for you. But it will make you work in a very stuctured way.
Tanja Maschka
Tanja Maschka
2019-05-19T14:33:19+0000
Small, colorful, flexible and unbeatable in functionality!I would not want to miss the toolkit anymore.What makes up the Retouching Toolkit has already been said, I can only agree with that.A big compliment for the great customer service. Just great as you take your customers by the hand! An ingenious idea to integrate small instructional videos into the panel!This panel is just great!Keep it up!👍
Danny Santana
Danny Santana
2019-05-19T11:47:08+0000
Best tool I have ever invest to work with PS. A time saver and awesome helpful community.
Patrick Sobottka
Patrick Sobottka
2019-05-19T10:09:10+0000
This toolkit gives you everything you’ll need for retouching. The scripts and actions are really sophisticated, saving you a lot of time. There are no secrets or magic tricks, in the community Conny and Stefan show everything and make sure, you understand what you are doing. For me one of the best things is, that this toolkit follows a nice, clean Workflow. Not to mention the endless possibilities to personalize your toolkit panels. Couldn’t imagine to work without it anymore. Thank you guys for making Photoshop perfect for retouching!read more
David James
David James
2019-05-19T08:21:34+0000
Great for workflow and help with advanced technpiques.
Erik Heyninck
Erik Heyninck
2019-05-19T06:17:38+0000
Quality of software and quality of support. It delivers many features I had wished for in Photoshop but goes way beyond that in delivering features I didn’t even knew I how useful they are.
Stefan Neuweger
Stefan Neuweger
2019-05-19T06:10:57+0000
Simply the most flexible panel for phtotoshop I know of made by people who know phtotoshop and retouching inside out.
Wolfgang Schmidt
Wolfgang Schmidt
2019-05-19T05:51:57+0000
Das beste Panel was ich bis jetzt hatte. Die Macher des Panels helfen immer und das sehr schnell wenn Fragen da sind. Die Funktionalität ist sensationell und beschleunigt den Workflow in Photoshop enorm. Weiter so …. und ich freu mich schon auf die kommenden Erweiterungen. 👍👍👍
George Sheppard
George Sheppard
2019-05-18T23:01:50+0000
All you need toolkit. The best help you can get for your workflow’s..
Anne Helene Gjelstad
Anne Helene Gjelstad
2019-05-18T22:54:06+0000
I have used the Retouching Toolkit since the first release and I love it. The new update is amazing. Thank you so much for your hard work!
Markus Vockrodt
Markus Vockrodt
2019-05-18T22:43:14+0000
It’s true, the only PS-Toolkit you ever need. So easy to create your own panels without knowledge of programming or scripting. So easy to customize your workflow you need and it’s so unique that you get highquality content of retouching tecniques for free. Just amazing (y)
Dan McCormack
Dan McCormack
2019-05-18T21:50:30+0000
Helps workflow — great way to learn advanced techniques!
Sven Ceglarek
Sven Ceglarek
2019-05-18T21:40:50+0000
Greatest Toolkit I’ve ever had. It’s easy-to-use, super flexible, comes with tons of scripts and works perfectly with own actions. Not to mention the customizability with buttons, images and colours.
Mezame
Mezame
2019-05-18T21:27:06+0000
I’m all about having things done efficiently. Retouching Toolkit just helps me with that. Quicker turnarounds through efficient workflow really help me lots for my work (and sanity)!
Sigrid Aicher
Sigrid Aicher
2019-05-18T21:26:57+0000
THE most useful, flexible, helpful, time saving tool ever. An absolute must-have for everyone working with Photoshop and valuing efficiency.
Raphaela Meyer
Raphaela Meyer
2019-05-18T21:26:11+0000
Improves your workflow and your retouching skills. You can do anything with the toolkit, even order a Pizza🍕 And Conny and Stefan are so supportive!
Mareike Keicher
Mareike Keicher
2018-05-26T10:52:12+0000
Absolutely well thought out. Best toolkit on the market. I would recommend it to every good photographer or retoucher 😉
Next Reviews